The EYFS Explained

Schools and early years providers have to follow a structure of learning, development and care for children from birth to five years old. This is called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and it enables your child to learn through a range of activities.

What does the Early Years Foundation Stage do?

The EYFS ensures that:


  • children learn through play
  • providers work closely with parents
  • you are kept up to date on your child’s progress
  • the welfare, learning and all-round development of children with different backgrounds and levels of ability, including those with special educational needs and disabilities


The EYFS concentrates on these key areas of learning;


The Prime areas of learning

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development


The Specific areas of learning

  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding of the World
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy


Focusing on;


  • Development Matters
  • Look, Listen and Note
  • Effective Practice Planning and Resourcing


For the key age groups


  • Birth-11 months
  • 8-20 months
  • 16-26 months
  • 22-36 months
  • 30-50 months  
  • 40-60 months
Print Print | Sitemap
© TinyTots